A brand new year

1 Sep

For others, each year starts in January. For teachers, it starts in September! So THIS is my new year. And for a new year, of course I have a new year’s resolution.

IMPROVE HEALTH

– Spend less time on the computer or other silly things and sleep early (not later that 12 am XD)

– Do 10-15 mins yoga every morning (can’t afford the time to go for an hour, so I guess it’s better than doing NOThing)

– get up at around six something so I can go to school earlier and leave on time (six days in a row already, yea~)

IMPROVE TEACHING

– Better planning before lessons (well, that preparation will never get enough, but I think I’m getting better each year)

– Share ideas and working closely with other colleagues (It’s important to get some teammates and work things out together. I’m lucky to have some!)

– REALLY concentrate on one work at a time so to be efficient and stop worrying about future jobs (I am pretty much a procastinater either because I want things to be perfect or lack motivation to get things started. )

– Keep studying new things about teaching (I’ve stopped enrolling regular course since I got my MA. Time to consider courses like counselling…maybe. or Art or anything I am interested in. I need to learn new things to prevent myself from job burnout.

– HAVE TO MOVE ON and stop comparing students of this year to that of last year. (Every student is unique. I’ve been having such a good time with my past students that I’m afraid I can’t move on.😄 Does any other teachers feel the same? I worry that I can’t teach as well / they can’t reach my expectation and I get frustated…etc. yes, sometimes I worry too much.)

IMPROVE SELF

– Meditate every night. I used to hate mediation (back to the time that I still learnt yoga) because I had too much noise inside my head. Now that I think I need it (Perhaps it’s the effect after reading EAT PRAY LOVE XD). I WANT to get closer to the higher divine. I want to make peace with myself. The simpliest way (Also the Bali way of meditation according to the medicine man in the book) is to sit still and smile. “Smile in your face. Smile in your mind. Smile even in your liver. Then good energy will come to you and clean away dirty energy. Practice every night. Not to hurry, not to try too hard. If you get too serious, it makes you sick.”

– Follow the routine of the day but still be flexable. (Good time management! Better pracitse the piano for a few minutes a day than never practise it before lessons. )

IMPROVE RELATIONSHIPS

– Spend quality time with my loved ones!!

– Be less judgmental of others (This, is so difficult because my super ego thinks I’m always right!!! I’ll need to be more open-minded and appreciate others’ uniqueness.)

– Spend more time on voluntary work

Finance, is one of the most important areas of improvement, but I haven’t thought of any ideas yet. So I’ll just leave it first.

Hello~New year! (^_______^) I’ll try my best to walk my talk~:)

2 Responses to “A brand new year”

  1. Becky Cheung 2010 年 09 月 01 日 at 2:24 PM #

    Hi Janet,

    I’ve been a follower of your blog since I met you at Paul’s seminar. Really appreciate your passion for work. =)

    May all your “new year” resolutions come true. Have a great year!

    Becky

    • missjanetlaw 2010 年 09 月 01 日 at 2:28 PM #

      Thanks Becky!! Of cos I know you!! (You came to Paul’s lesson and share us with your work- I still remember it’s about your students sharing their favourite youtube video clips) I’m also a follower of your blog🙂 I know you’re having a big new job this coming year! I hope you all the best ^_^

Leave a Reply

