The very famous ‘very hungry caterpillar’ XD (Lesson planned by Mrs. Mac, our school NET teacher)

26 May

I love having the LEAP programme with my P.1s every Wednesday. They learnt a lot and have  great fun as well. The kids from the blue group (the weakest ones) knew about zero – five high frequency words out of fifty when they first entered school. Now they can read simple English books themselves!

We have been reading this very famous children book, “The very hungry caterpillar” for a few lessons. Mrs. Mac is our NET teacher who is usually in charge of the LEAP lessons. Mrs Po, our resource teacher, and I, the class English teacher, will assist Mrs Mac. However, Mrs Mac is on her study leave, so Mrs. Po takes up her job for this time period.

I still remember last lesson, when Mrs Po was reading the line…something like…’it became a big, fat caterpillar’ And one of my kids said, “Oh, just like you!” We all couldn’t help laughing, including Mrs Po. (sorry, Mrs Po XD)

Today, we did something fun together! (We wish you were here, Mrs Mac! ) Mrs Po turned a sock into a caterpillar and I picked Kristel to be the funny thing. All the other girls pick one food that the caterpillar ate (With a big hole inside). Then we read the book again and the girls would come out and put the food “Into” the caterpillar according to the plot.

 

(The caterpillar finally turned himself into a cocoon and TA DA ~~~ became a beautiful butterfly!! YEAH!)

After that, the kids were sent to make their own butterflies. They coloured one side of the butterfly last time, so today they needed to colour the other side then cut it out (I helped them cos they are not good at using scissors) . Next, they inserted the butterfly to a wood pack (Scotch tape is used) and added one coloured feeler to its head. We couldn’t finish them during lessons, so we did the rest during recess time (and I didn’t have time to ask them finish their whatever ~re-corrections T__T)

 

Cheers! ^_^

2 Responses to “The very famous ‘very hungry caterpillar’ XD (Lesson planned by Mrs. Mac, our school NET teacher)”

  1. M.Y. So 2012 年 07 月 06 日 at 3:06 PM #

    Hi Ms Law!

    Let me introduce myself first. I am also a primary English teacher. Thanks so much for your sincere and generous sharing. I found a lot of useful ideas and great inspirations. I will read your blog regularly so as to enhance my teaching skills.

    Cheers,
    M.Y. So

    • missjanetlaw 2012 年 07 月 08 日 at 6:48 AM #

      Thanks very much! Your encouragement really brightens my day. I haven’t updated the blog for a long time due to busy school work. Please do also share your teaching ideas with me😀 ! !

      Your partner in learning,
      Janet ^_^

Leave a Reply

