Reread Tuesdays With Morrie

2 May

The first time read “Tuesday with Morrie” was year 2. My grandpa was dying of prostate cancer. Seeing my beloved grandpa wither, day after day, was a torture. Just like any other Chinese families, we are all prohibited to talk about death even though we knew we were going to lose him, sooner not later. Keeping silent, was all we did. How unbearable it was!  We could have handled death like Morrie and his family. To arrange a “living funeral” and let every one of us tell him how much we love him instead of having the noisy “破地獄” ritual after his death. But it won’t happen anyhow. I guess my grandma couldn’t accept the idea as well. I’m just glad that I was able to tell and show him my love before he died.

I read it the second time when I was deeply depressed years ago. I was healthy and be loved by my family, but I couldn’t feel the happiness inside. Nothing seems to be signifiant to me anymore. Rereading Morrie made me realized how I must have put my values in the wrong things. This book becomes my float board whenever I am about to drown in my own misery.

Then yesterday was the third time I read it again. It was a sunny and blissful day. I’ve been working for a whole week and finally got some free time to sit down and relax. I thought of my dear grandpa and the miserable time I had while reading it. At the same time, I was afraid that I might have put too much time on my work, like Mitch, that I ignored many important things in my life. Seems like I haven’t had any good talk with my folks for such a long time. I spent most of my time on the computer or marking than actually listening to them. During weekends, I wanted to sleep more so I never wake up early to have breakfast with them. How cliche to say that human activities like conversations is more vital in life ! Yet it is so true.

“Death ends a life, not a relationship” as Morrie said. We are here to learn how to create relationships with other  humans. As teachers, we might have put efforts in our students, but how about our families and friends? Spouses and children? And how about some time for ourselves? Did you learn how to get along with yourselves?

How to make meanings into our lives?

Morrie told a little story. Every day, have a little bird on your shoulder that asks, ‘ Is today the day? Am I ready ? Am I doing all I need to do? Am I being the person I want to be?”

When you are prepared to die, you are ready to live.

Leave a Reply

